CRAZY! HOT! AND LIVING ON THE EDGE by Author Shirley Harris-Slaughter

I am honored to host author Shirley Harris-Slaughter on her CRAZY! HOT! AND LIVING ON THE EDGE blog tour!  This book is hot off the presses and I know she’s anxious to share it, I’ll let her take it away…

 Crazy!_Hot!_And_Livi_Cover_for_Kindle

Book EXCERPT:

I was talking to a colleague about this book and I realized some of the issues discussed did not include what I am about to say now. It is about my baby brothers – the identical twins. You see, they both suffered with schizophrenia. It started at the tender young age of eight. One of the twins had a breakdown and had to be hospitalized. He was then moved to a children’s center in the state. The other twin suffered the same fate around the age of twelve. They were in a state mental institution as adults and went on to live independently in supervised homes – at least one twin did.

In 1971, twin #1 died at the age of 18 and I started having panic attacks. I’m pretty sure his death is what contributed to me going completely over the edge. I was at the hospital when he was admitted. I saw the blood bags that caused me to become faint and nauseous. Hospital personnel, seeing my distress, took me out of the room, sat me down and made me bend over, put my head between my knees and breathe, while they opened the doors to let in more air. I soon recovered physically but not mentally. It was horrifying for me to see what he had to go through—that this mental disorder could cause him to hallucinate to the point of dying.

I do remember twin #2, between the death and the funeral, waking up to a patch of grey at the top front of his hairline. It seemed to me that his hair turned white overnight! So just imagine what his grief must have been like. Twins are inseparable. Identical twins? I cannot fathom his feelings. I think I took the death the hardest. I was in despair. It took some comforting words from a friend to bring me some measure of peace. She said, God has to have some good people on his side.” That statement was the only thing that calmed me down and got me through it. I can only imagine what my mother must have been experiencing.

When something happens in an immediate family, it causes trauma for the whole family. Being the eldest I had to deal with the fact that my mother had shut down. It was all too much for her. I had to be the strong person and that proved to be too much for me as well. So dealing with death and dealing with separation and divorce at the same time had a devastating effect on my physical and mental wellbeing…

The Author

SHS1

Shirley Harris-Slaughter

Shirley Harris-Slaughter’s first book highlights her passion for history which led to her first published work, Our Lady of Victory, the Saga of an African American Catholic Community. But she wouldn’t have been able to write that book had she not had the presence of mind to conquer the health crisis she found herself in. She is an advocate for natural health and healing. Any problem that she had to face, she found her way out of it through sheer determination and a miracle.

This led to her second book CRAZY! HOT! AND LIVING ON THE EDGE!!

Harris-Slaughter saw a void that needed to be filled; and so she decided to share her experience.

Harris-Slaughter has been active in her community by supporting candidates for elected office, and voting in every election. She served on the Oak Park School Board. She is an advocate for children and mentored four freshmen girls in the Winning Futures program. She is an active member in her church and she belongs to the Rave Reviews (Virtual) Book Club. She married her best friend Langston and they share a blended family. “We are as different as night and day and yet we are so much alike in many ways. We made it through thirty-two years!”

Shirley Harris-Slaughter and her husband reside in Oak Park in the great State of Michigan.

She is available for book events and speaking engagements.

 

JUST PUBLISHED: http://wp.me/P48F9L-9T

THREE REVIEWS: http://amzn.to/1DOGVBl

PURCHASE LINKS:

CRAZY! HOT! AND LIVING ON THE EDGE!!

AMAZON — http://bit.ly/CrazyHotLiving

OUR LADY OF VICTORY, THE SAGA OF AN AFRICAN AMERICAN CATHOLIC COMMUNITY

AMAZON — http://bit.ly/OLVTheSaga

CONNECT:

Email Address: sharrislaughter@gmail.com

Author Facebook Page: http://bit.ly/SHarrriSlaughter

Twitter Page: @sharrislaughter

Email: sharrislaughter@gmail.com

Blog: www.shirleyslaughter.com

Leave a comment at each stop (including this one) and get your name entered that number of times into a random drawing for:

1st Prize:  $15 Amazon Gift Card

2nd Prize:  Autographed copy of “Crazy! Hot! and Living On The Edge!!”

 banner

11 thoughts on “CRAZY! HOT! AND LIVING ON THE EDGE by Author Shirley Harris-Slaughter

  1. You have quite a life, Shirley, and have come out strong. It is a privilege to get to know you a little better through your tour. It’s so brave of you to put together the book you have. Best of luck with everything 🙂

    Jenny, thanks so much for hosting Shirley today 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Harmony you are so right about the brave part because it took a lot for me to do this. Who wants to reveal the negatives in their lives? No one that I know of. But I am amazed at the response I got not only from the club but outside. My sister is telling everybody she knows to get a copy. She is my biggest advocate. Some of my close friends have picked up their copies. So I thought to myself, “Maybe what I did was the right thing.” We shall see. Thank you so much for your support.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jennifer. Didn’t I just see you? lol You are the best. I’m just thrilled to be on your site. Thank you for hosting me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know you are BOM selected so when I get back from my speaking engagement, I will look at my TBRs and add you to it. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Joy I just got back in town Sunday after an amazing speaking engagement. Thank you so much for your support and I hope you got something from it.

      Like

  4. Hi Shirley. Sorry I’m so late getting to the stop. Life keeps interfering with what I want to do. Lol Wow, this was quite a post! It says so much about your inner strength that you are able to write this book. Jennifer, thank you so much for hosting a stop on this incredible tour.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rhani its never too late. I just got back from my speaking engagement where I was invited for my first release but took a few of the Crazy Hot Releases and lo and behold, the priest was the first one to buy a copy right off the display table. It was the funniest thing. We couldn’t stop laughing. Continue share the page and some folks may still stop in. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

